Michael J. Lannoo, Ph. D and Edward Ricketts

Biographical Sketch



Born: 13 November 1957; Moline, Illinois.
Citizenship: U.S.A.



Ph.D., 1986 (Anatomy), Dalhousie University School of Medicine, Halifax, Nova Scotia.
Thesis title: Morphological and Behavioral Aspects of Lateral Line Topography in Amphibians.
Thesis advisor: Dr. Richard Wassersug.

M.Sc., 1982 (Animal Ecology), Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa. Thesis title: Food Habits and Feeding Behavior of Tiger Salamander Larvae (Ambystoma tigrinum) in Northwestern Iowa.
Thesis advisor: Dr. Marilyn Bachmann.

B.Sc., 1979 (Biology, with Distinction), Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa.



Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Indiana University School of Medicine; Affiliate: Illinois Natural History Survey, University of Illinois; Graduate Faculty Status: Purdue University; Summer Faculty Status: University of Iowa.



IN DNR/US FWS State Wildlife Grant: Ecology of Crawfish Frogs ($1,220,836) for ’09–’16

DoD: Amphibian Disease Survey: Natural Resource Manager Training and Data Collection ($71,500) ’10-’13 /w Friends of PARC

DoD: Presence of a Global Pathogen on U.S Military Installations ($98,000) ’13-14 /w Friends of PARC

CERL: Detectability of chytrid fungus on DoD sites ($75,000) for ’08–’11 /w C. Phillips, INHS, I. Macallister, CERL.

DoD: Do Frogs Still get their Kicks on Route 66? ($98,000) ’08–’11 /w Friends of PARC

NSERC (Canada): Effects of Logging on Boreal Forest Amphibians (CN $45,000) for ’07–’09

US FWS: Characterization of Malformed Frogs on US Wildlife Refuges ($8,500) for ’04–‘06

NIH PA-5792: Does Fasciculation Order Purkinje Cell Projections? ($98,023) for ’98–’02.

USGS, Patuxent National Wildlife Research Center: Amphibian Atlas ($25,000) for ’01–’02.

NFWF: Conservation of U.S. Amphibians ($30,000) for ’99–’01.

USGS: National Atlas Program/Mapping ($43,000) for ’99–’00.

NIEHS/MPCA: Malformed Frogs ($21,000) for ’97–’99.

NIH PA-5792: Neuronal Ordering in a Simple Vertebrate Nucleus ($94,212) from ’92–’95.



2001 Parker/Gentry Award for Conservation Biology, The Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, IL. This award honors “an outstanding individual, team or organization whose efforts are distinctive and courageous and have had a significant impact on preserving the world's natural heritage, and whose actions and approaches can serve as a model to others.” (see http://archive.fieldmuseum.org/parkergentry/2001.htm).

2011 National Military Fish and Wildlife Association’s annual award with Rob Lovich, Christopher Petersen, Priya Nanjappa, Chris Phillips, Joseph Mitchell, and Irene Macallister for our work: “Do frogs still get their kicks on Route 66? A transcontinental transect for amphibian chytrid fungus (Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis) infection on U.S. Department of Defense installations.”

2005–’06 Speaker of the Year, Indiana Academy of Science

2006 Exemplar Award, Committee on the Environment, Ball State University

Teaching Recognition (either in the top 10% of all Indiana University School of Medicine Instructors or top instructor at a Center for Medical Education), Academic Years 1995–’96, 1997–’98, 2000–’01, 2001–’02, 2002–’03, 2011-'12, 2012-'13, 2014-'15, 2015-'16.

Teacher of the Year, Freshman Class, Academic Year 1990–’91, Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine, Human Gross Anatomy.

Trustee Teaching Award, 2013, 2015; Indiana University School of Medicine.



Human Neuroanatomy, Course Coordinator, 25 years to Medical and Health Professions Students.

Human Gross Anatomy, Lecturer, Laboratory Instructor, 10 years to Medical, Dental, and Health Professions Students.

Conservation Biology, The Iowa Lakeside Laboratory, 28 years (continuing).



American Association for the Advancement of Science
American Institute of Biological Sciences
Association for Fire Ecology
Society for Conservation Biology
The Ecological Society of America
American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (Editorial Board)
Herpetologist’s League
Organization of Biological Field Stations
Smithsonian Institution Associate
Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society
Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles
World Conservation Union's Species Survival Commission



Associate Director of Academics, Research, and Planning; The Iowa Lakeside Laboratory (2013-present)

Coordinator of the United States Division of the Declining Amphibian Populations Task Force, World Conservation Union (IUCN)/Species Survival Commission (SSC; now the Amphibian Specialist Group; 1998–present)

Executive Committee, Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC; 1999–2010)

Associate Editor, COPEIA (American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists; 2002–present)

Instructor, Amphibian Biology and Conservation Management course, (Association of Zoos and Aquariums; 2004–present)

Chair, Academic Standards Committee, Indiana University School of Medicine (2007–2011)

Chair, Nominations Committee, Herpetologists League (2013)

Consultant: Allen, K.A. 2010. Deformed Frogs: A Cause and Effect Investigation. Capstone Press, Mankato MN.

Co-Chair, Joint National Steering Committee, Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC; 2007–2010)

Board of Governors, Herpetologist's League (2004–2008)

International Advisory Board, Declining Amphibian Populations Task Force, World Conservation Union (IUCN)/Species Survival Commission (SSC; 2001–2006)

Animal Care and Use Committee member, Ball State University (1992–2006)

Editor of the Journal of the Iowa Academy of Science issue devoted to the Richard Bovbjerg Festschrift (14 papers). Authored the introduction: “Richard Bovbjerg and the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory” (1990, 97:110–111)